Felony DWI Charges
Concord DWI Attorney
Are you facing a felony charge for an offense of
DWI (driving while intoxicated)? While the crime of DWI is generally considered
a misdemeanor, it can also be charged as a felony when certain aggravating
factors are involved. Felony DWI charges can result in very serious penalties.
If a person is found guilty of felony DWI, that individual may also run
into many problems in the future because of his or her criminal record.
In the state of North Carolina, a driver can be charged with felony DWI
if he or she classifies as a "habitual driver." This means that
the individual is being charged with a fourth or subsequent DWI offense.
A driver may also face felony charges if he or she committed a DWI offense
that caused serious injury of another person, or death to another person.
The Law Offices of Darrin M. Gamradt, P.C.serves as a team of fierce advocates for individuals who are accused of driving while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs.
Penalties for Felony DWI
Here are the penalties that are given for individuals who are convicted
of fourth or subsequent DWI offenses (within a span of 10 years):
Habitual Impaired Driving (Class F Felony)
- Mandatory minimum of 1 year of imprisonment
- Permanent driver's license revocation
- Expensive fines
Meanwhile, the offense of "felony serious injury by vehicle"
is a Class F felony, but it becomes a Class E felony if it involves certain
aggravating factors. "Felony death by vehicle" is a Class D
felony, with more severe penalties being given when aggravating factors
are present. If a person commits "repeat felony death by vehicle"
(meaning the individual already has similar convictions on his or her
record), he or she can be charged with a Class B2 felony.
To learn more about felony DWI charges in North Carolina and how you can
defend yourself in your DWI case,
contact The Law Offices of Darrin M. Gamradt, P.C. The firm offers
free case evaluations.